Clerk's Office

Phone Number: (906) 663-4518
Vital Record (906) 663-4518
Fax Number: (906) 663-4660

Hours of service: CST
8:30a.m.-12:00p.m.
1:00p.m.-4:30p.m.

Staff names and titles:
Gerry Pelissero
Clerk of Court, Register of Deeds
gpelissero@gogebic.org
MaryAhnen
Chief Deputy
mahnen@gogebic.org
Mary Jendrusina
Accounts processor/Payroll
mjendrusina@gogebic.org
Mary Ann Erickson
Deputy Clerk
merickson@gogebic.org
Ramona Collins
Deputy Register of Deeds
rdeeds@gogebic.org
Sue Kivi
Assistant Register
skivi@gogebic.org

The services that this department offers include Birth and Death Certificates, Passports, Military Discharges, Business Certificates, Marriage Licenses, Circuit Court Filings, Family Court Filings, Concealed Weapons Permits, Voters Registrations, Candidate Filings, Applications and Bonds for Notary Public, Collection of Circuit Court Fines and Personal Protection Orders.

Some frequently asked questions of this office are:

What do I need to do to obtain a Birth Certificate?

To obtain a Birth Certificate, you must give the Clerk’s office your name, date of birth, parents names and mothers maiden name. To receive one copy, the cost is $10.00 and $3.00 for each additional copy.

What do I need to do to obtain a Marriage License?

One of both parties must come to the County Clerk's office to make application for a marriage license. At this time the parties will be given two pamphlets - the first contains information on HIV/AIDS and the second contains a listing of HIV Counseling and Testing Agencies by region and County. Michigan residents can obtain a marriage license from the County Clerk in which they reside and the license will be valid anywhere in the State of Michigan. If both parties are non-residents of the State, they must obtain their license from the County Clerk in the County in which the marriage will be performed. There is a (3) three day waiting period to obtain a license. The license will be given on the (4) fourth day. The license is valid for (33) thirty-three days from the date of application. Both parties must be at least 18 years of age. A person below the age of 18 can be married with written consent of a parent or legal guardian. Marriage license fees are: 20.00 for residents and 30.00 for non-residents.